Located between the branch of the Small Danube (Kis-Duna) and the spurs of the Visegrád Hills Leányfalu stretches some 5 kilometres in length. Declared a holiday resort in 1936, it became an independent municipality in 1949.
Among the first settlers were Ignác Szendrey and his the son-in-law Pál Gyulai the writer (1826-1909) who wrote several of his works here. Later, in 1912, Zsigmond Móricz the great narrator who knew Hungarian society so intimately also became an owner of a holiday housee in Leányfalu.
During the second half of the 1960's 40 degree Centigrade thermal spring was found in the settlement. The largest strand and pool complex of the area was subsequently built around the waters.