Connecting three different areas (Bodrogköz, Hegyköz and Hegyalja), Sátoraljaújhely has a very favourable geographic position and, due to the important trade roads and above all to the lively market in wine, it became an important settlement during the Middle Ages. About 750 years ago, in 1261, the town was given a charter. In 1697 on the occasion of a national fair-day the rebellion of the desperate peasantry of Zemplén broke out, inflaming the whole region of Hegyalja. It was the forerunner of the war of independence led by Rákóczi. Ferenc Rákóczi the 2nd gave permanent financial aid to the town in order to help its development, and he built a special street for his guardsmen. Even during difficult periods in Hungarian history, trade flourished here, and from the 18th century to 1920 Sátoraljaújhely was the capital of Zemplén county - from the beginning of modern Hungary until the country was dismembered. The present look of its centre began to develop from the mid-19th century. The cellars under the Church of Wine ('Bortemplom') bear witness to the authentic local culture of the wine; in these cellars people can store up to twelve thousand hectolitres wine.
The most beautiful, majestic and serene monument of the town is the Baroque town-hall (former county hall) built between 1754 and 1768. Lajos Kossuth, who was the central figure of the Revolution and War of Independence of 1848/1849, began his carrier in this town. He delivered his first public speech standing on the balcony of this building. Here the poet Ferenc Kazinczy, prime mover in literary life in the 18th - 19th century and the leading figure in Hungarian language reform, worked as a county archivist. Today the archive established in one of the wings of the building is named after him; even the furniture of this room was designed by Kazinczy.
Ferenc Kazinczy lived at Széphalom which belongs to Sátoraljaújhely. In the place where once he had his country-seat, Neo Classicist memorial hall was built in 1873. It has the form of a Greek hall church. From this building a horn-beam avenue leads the visitor to the poet's tomb.
In the Ferenc Kazinczy Museum of Sátoraljaújhely (built in 1827, Classical style) where initially the Casino Society of Zemplén developed its activity and which for a while served as a town-hall, there are archaeological exhibitions and exhibitions of natural history. Those interested in Sátoraljaújhely can discover the history of the town.
The Nagyboldogasszony ('Virgin Mary') parish church has Gothic elements in its style, suggesting the atmosphere of bygone times. The process of building of the Pauline (Piarist) monastery was begun in the 13th century, the church tower dates from 1501. However, it burned down during the Tartar invasion in 1566, and after the restoration it gained an Early Baroque aspect. The counterforted sanctuary, the cross vault of the cloisters and some elements of the tower are beautiful reminders of the former existence of the church. The interior of the church has richly ornamented Baroque altars and pulpits.
The Church of Sátoraljaújhely was built in 1738 in Baroque style and it is one of the oldest Greek Catholic churches in Hungary. Its iconostasis of rare beauty made in 1759 has a great artistic value.
The memorial to the "rabbi of miraculous power", Mózes Teitelbaum (1759 - 1841), who spread Hasidism in Hungary, is in the old Jewish graveyard. The rabbi insisted upon the unifying of different Jewish religious trends. People have used his prayer-book written in Jewish ever since. His finely restored resting-place has become a place of pilgrimage and on the day of his death, on July 16, Jews from all over the world visit the place.
Year after year more and more people visit the town of Sátoraljaújhely, for its beautiful monuments and its wonderful natural landscapes. Great hiking-opportunities attract walking enthusiasts. The 345 metres high Szár-hill with the Szent Stephen Chapel and the 14 stations of the Hungarian Calvary on the top remind visitors of the territories Hungary lost after the World War. From the top of the hill a wonderful panorama delights the eye. There are only few places in Hungary for the lovers of winter sports, and the Magas-hill of Sátoraljaújhely is a real Paradise in this respect, where sledge- and ski-tracks await visitors. The 1,333 metre long cable lift with seats, the so-called "libego" is also available.