The first record of the modern seat of Komárom-Esztergom County dates from the 16th September 1902 when it was only a small settlement. Today the city is the area's intellectual, cultural and economic centre.
The need to house the labour force required by the mining industry that began to florish in 1896 brought into existence the workers' colonies that later developed into the city of Tatabánya. The three settlements of Alsógalla, Felsőgalla and Bánhida began to expand toward the mines. The city's current name dates from 1947. In a subsequent political decision it was designated the county seat.
Although the name of the city has retained the word 'mine' (bánya), the mining industry ceased operating here years ago. Developed around the former Shaft No 15, the last operating shaft of the coal seam, the open-air mining museum is an avid reminder of the mining past.
Among Tatabánya's sites of natural interest is the Szelim Cave where a significant number of archaeological finds have been discovered. An educational trail has been developed to make the natural assets easily accessible to visitors.